Things to See and Do Links

There are many things to see and do in our area, below are a list of links to some of them.

FESTIVALS

Summerfolk Music and Craft Festival (August) www.summerfolk.org
Pumpkinfest – Port Elgin (October) www.pumpkinfest.org
Tara Festival of Crafts (October) 519-934-2511
Maple Syrup Festivals (March and April) www.svca.on.ca
Saugeen Bluffs, Kemble Mountain, Grey Roots Museum plus many more www.greyroots.com
Festival of the Northern Lights (November) www.owensoundtourism.ca
Wiarton Willie Festival (February) www.wiartonwillie.com
Will for the Arts Festival – MacGregor Point (September) www.friendsofmacgregor.org
Scarecrow Invasion and Apple Harvest Craft Show (October) www.visitmeaford.ca
Electric Eclectics Music Festival (July) www.visitmeaford.ca
Kincardine Scottish Festival www.sunsets.com
Bruce Peninsula Orchid Festival www.orchidfest.ca
Huron Fringe Birding Festival – MacGregor Point (Spring) www.friendsofmacgregor.org
Sauble Beach Sandfest www.saublebeach.com

MARKETS

Keady Farmers Market (Tuesday) www.keadylivestock.com
Port Elgin Market (Wednesday) www.portelgin.org
Southampton Indoor Market (Daily) www.southamptonmarket.com
Owen Sound Market (Saturday) www.owensoundtourism.ca
Rockford Flea Market
Meaford Farmers Market (Friday) www.visitmeaford.ca
Southampton Indoor Market (Daily) www.southamptonmarket.com
Owen Sound Market (Saturday) www.owensoundtourism.ca

MUSEUMS

Grey Roots Museum and Archives www.greyroots.com
Billy Bishop Home and Museum www.billybishop.org
Owen Sound Marine and Rail Museum www.marinerail.com
Bruce County Museum and Cultural Centre – Southampton www.brucemuseum.ca
Treasure Chest Museum – Paisley www.arran-elderslie.ca
Walkerhouse Heritage Centre www.walkerhousekincardine.com

CULTURE

The Roxy Theatre (live theatre) www.roxytheatre.ca
Georgian Bay Symphony www.georgianbaysymphony.ca
Georgian Bay Folk Society www.summerfolk.org
Black Heritage www.blackhistory.owensound.ca
Historic Walking Tours
Chippewa Pow Wow www.saugeenfirstnation.ca
Traditional Feast and Storytelling (Thursday) weekly www.saugeenecdev.ca
Harbour Nights Concert (Sunday) weekly www.owensoundtourism.ca
Amphitheatre and Gardens www.saugeenfirstnation.ca

BIRDING AREAS

Grey-Sauble Conservation – Owen Sound www.greysauble.on.ca
MacGregor Point Provincial Park www.ontariotravel.net/outdoor www.ontario parks.com
Arran Lake (Tara) www.greysauble.on.ca
Bruce Birding Club Port Elgin with Mike Pickup
author of local birding books www.mpickup@bmts.com
Hibou Conservation Area – Owen Sound www.brucegreytrails.com
Inglis Falls – Owen Sound www.brucegreytrails.com

GARDENS

Brian W. Folmer Botanical Gardens www.folmergardens.ca
Rural Gardens of Grey and Bruce www.ruralgardens.ca
SLEIGH RIDES
Cattos Sleigh Rides 519-376-9027
DeVries Sleigh Rides (Shallow Lake) 519-935-3456

CANOEING AND KAYAKING AND OUTFITTERS

Sauble River at Sauble Falls Conservation Area www.ontariotravel.net/outdoor
Saugeen River Port Elgin and Southampton www.saugeenshores.ca
Chantry Island – Southampton www.saugeenshores.ca
Mill Dam – Owen Sound www.owensound.org
Denny’s Dam – Southampton www.saugeenshores.ca
Arran Lake – Tara www.greysauble.on.ca
Suntrail Source for Adventure – Hepworth www.suntrail.net
Thorncrest Outfitters – Southampton and Paisley www.thorncrestoutfitters.com
Cowan Canoes – Paisley 519-353-5535

FISHING



Arran Lake – Tara www.greysauble.on.ca
Owen Sound Salmon Spectacul;ar Fishing Derby and Fish Suppers(August)www.sydenhamsportsmen.com
Shoreline Fishing Derby – Port Elgin www.saugeenshores.ca

CROSS COUNTRY SKIING AND SNOWSHOEING



Sawmill Ski Trails – Hepworth www.bruceskiclub.ca
Colpoys Trail – Wiarton www.brucegreytails.com
Sauble Beach Cross Country Ski Trails www.skisauble.freehostia.com
Harrison Park and Inglis Falls – Owen Sound www.owensoundtourism.ca
MacGregor Point Provincial Park – Port Elgin www.ontarioparks.com
Brant Tract – Paisley www.brucegreytrails.com
The Bruce Trail www.brucetrail.org
Snowmobile Trail – Tara
Massie Hills Ski Trail – Chatsworth www.brucegreytrails.com www.owensound.org
Parkhead (Georgian Bluffs Trail) www.georgianbluffs.on.ca
Chesley Heritage Trail (snowshoeing) www.brucegreytrails.com

TOURS


Rural Gardens of Grey Bruce www.ruralgardens.ca
Waterfalls Tour www.visitgrey.ca/waterfalls
Lighthouse Tour www.brucecoastlighthouses.com
Motorcycle Tours www.ridegreybruce.com

 

BIKING


Saugeen Shores Trail – Southampton to Port Elgin www.saugeenrailtrail.com
Sauble Beach www.saublebeach.com
Parkhead to Owen Sound Rail Trail www.georgianbluffs.on.ca
Brant Tract (Mountain Bike) – Paisley www.mtbthebruce.com/branttract.php
Bruce Peninsula Mountain Bike Adventure Park – Wiarton www.sunsets.com
Chesley Heritage Trail www.brucegreytrails.com
Martins Cycle Shop – Southampton (bike rentals) www.martins.ca
Bikeface Cycling – Owen Sound www.bikeface.com

 

HIKING


Chesley Heritage Trail- www.brucegreytrails.com/trail.php
Bruce Trail – Sydenham Bruce Trail Club www.sydenhambrucetrail.ca
Bruce Trail – Others www.pbtc.ca www.brucetrail.org www.beavervalleybrucetrail.org
www.bmbtc.org
Brant Tract www.brucegreytrails.com
MacGregor Point Provincial Park www.brucegreytrail.com www.ontariotravel.net/outdoor
Sauble Falls Provincial Park www.brucegreytrails.comBayview Escarpment Provincial Nature Reserve Trail www.brucegreytrails.com
Eugenia Falls Conservation Area www.brucegreytrails.com
Old Baldy Conservation Area www.brucegreytrails.com
Feversham Gorge Conservation Area www.brucegreytrails.com
Hibou Conservation Area www.brucegreytrails.com
Inglis Falls Conservation Area www.brucegreytrails.com
Massie Ski Trail www.brucegreytrails.com
Pottawatomi Conservation Area www.brucegreytrails.com
Indian Falls Conservation Area www.brucegreytrails.com
West Rock Management Area Trails www.brucegreytrails.com
Bognor Marsh Management Area Trails www.brucegreytrails.com
Spirit Rpock Conservation Area Trail www.brucegreytrails.com
Bruce’s Caves Conservation Area Trail www.brucegreytrails.com
Saugeen Shores Trail and Saugeen Rail Trail www.brucegreytrails.com www.saugeenrailtrail.com
Kepple Rail Trail – Parkhead www.brucegreytrails.com
Paisley Trail www.brucegreytrails.com
Owen Sound Trails www.brucegreytrails.comls
Sarawak Rail Trail www.brucegreytrails.com
Hanover Community Trail System www.brucegreytrails.com
Saugeen River Trail www.brucegreytrails.com
Georgian Trail www.brucegreytrails.com
Cape Croker Trail www.brucegreytrails.com
Tom Thompson Trail – Bayshore Community Centre
John Muir and Trout Hollow Trail www.bigheadriver.org www.johnmuir.org/canada
Harrison Park – Owen Sound www.owensoundtourism.ca

 

BEACHES


Sauble Beach www.saublebeach.com
Port Elgin and Southampton Beaches www.sunsets.com or www.saugeenshores.ca
Kelso Beach www.owensoundtourism.com

 

GOLF


Cobble Beach Golf Links www.cobblebeach.com
Chesley Lake Camp www.chesleylakecamp.ca
Chippewa Golf and Country Club www.chippewagolf.com
Northern Dunes Golf Club www.northerndunes.com
Owen Sound Golf and Country Club www.osgcc.com
Pinewoods Golf at Sauble Beach www.pinewoodsgolf.ca
Sauble Golf and Country Club www.saublegolf.com
Saugeen Golf Club www.saugeengolf.com
Scenic City Golf Course 519-376-4649
South-Port Golf Course www.southportgolf.ca
Stone Tree Golf and Fitness Club www.stonetree.on.ca
The Links a Piper’s Glen – Port Elgin www.pipersglen.ca
Wiarton Golf Club www.wiartongolfclub.com
visit wwwgreybrucegolf.com for more information

AMUSEMENTS


Story Book Park www.storybookpark.com
Sauble Beach Amusements www.saublebeachfunworld.com
Westside Bowl – Owen Sound 519-376-6020
Sunset Lanes – Port Elgin 519-832-9331

ART


Owen Sound Artists Co-op
Southampton Art School and Gallery www.southamptonart.com
Wildside Gallery – Original Art Work and Prints – Tara www.northernflyerdesigns.ca
Northern Flyer Designs & Promotions – Tara www.northernflyerdesigns.ca
Tom Thompson Art Gallery – Owen Sound www.tomthomson.org
Shoreline Artists Studio Tour – Port Elgin, Southampton and Tara (June & August) www.shorelineartists.com
Wiarton Co-op

SALMON SPAWNING


Mill Dam and Fish Ladder – Owen Sound www.greysauble.on.ca
Sauble Falls Conservation Area www.ontariotravel.net/outdoor

 

FOOD


Sulky Sam’s Restaurant & Sports – Tara 519-934-3752
Country Cousins Family Restaurant – Tara 519-934-2066
Grandma’s In-Between Stop Family Restaurant – Burgoyne 519-389-5544

OTHER


Kemble Womens’ Institute Look Out www.georgianbluffs.on.ca
Dog Sled Adventures www.singingdogs.ca
Doors Open – Free Tours wwwdoorsopenontario.on.ca for the areas that are participating
Fall Fairs – Tara has a great fair but there are many others in the area
The Bruce Beckons – a great antique shop www.thebrucebeckons.ca
Explore the Bruce Adventure Passport www.explorethebruce.com
Hanover Race Track & Slots www.hanoverraceway.com
Sauble Speedway (every weekend) www.saublespeedway.com
Marine Simulator and Georgian College – Owen Sound www.georgianc.on.ca/owen-sound
Geocaching www.geocaching.com
Eco Adventure Tour at Scenic Caves www.sceniccaves.com
Blue Mountain Ski Hill www.bluemountain.ca
Kincardin Scottish Festival www.sunsets.com
Scenic Caves Nature Adventure www.sceniccaves.com
Scandinave Spa Blue Mountain www.scandinaveblue.com
Flower Pot Island Tour – Tobermory www.explorethebruce.com Cypress Lake and the Grotto www.explorethebruce.com
Visitor Centre – Tobermory http://www.pc.gc.ca/pn-np/on/bruce/ne/ne01.aspx

 

VINEYARDS


Coffin Ridge Boutique Winery www.coffinridge.ca
Georgian Hills Vineyards www.georgianhillsvineyards.ca
Wooldrift Farm – East Friesian Dairy Sheep – Walters Falls
exotic cheeses email: wooldrift@bmts.com

GENERAL INQUIRY SITES


Grey County Tourism www.visitgrey.ca
Bruce County Tourism www.explorethebruce.com
Owen Sound Tourism www.owensoundtourism.ca
Georgian Bay www.visitgeorgianbay.com
South Georgian Bay www.visitsouthgeorgianbay.ca
Grey-Bruce www.greybrucechambers.ca
Tobermory www.tobermory.com
Saugeen Shores.www.saugeenshores.ca
Grey Sauble Conservation www.svca.on.ca
The Grey Bruce Escape www.greybruceescape.ca